“Just do somethng”

mail (4)“The greatest of all mistakes is to do nothing because you think you can only do a little.”

Zig Zigler

I was looking for a specific quote when I came across a list of  Zig Zigler quotes. I remembered him from my early days in sales but had not thought about him in years. He had some interesting things to say!  My dad used to have a number of ‘quotes’. Perhaps they were not as famous and I have no idea where he got them but they were a staple in our home.  One of my favorites  (now not then) is  “lie down with dogs you get up with fleas.”  As a teenager I really hated that expression. As an adult-and especially as a parent, I can appreciate this corny expression. It is the complete opposite of associating with positive people or people who strive to do better. Sometimes we settle for less or hang with people who do less, behave less, or do less because it allows us to be less and as Zig said, “do nothing.”  My kids joke with me that my annoying expression while they were growing up was, “just do something!” How can a person ever accomplish anything if they are ‘lying with dogs’ or  setting the bar so low so no effort is required. When we are afraid of tying for fear of failing we are finished before we even start.

Some of his other great quotes are:

Of course motivation is not permanent. But then, neither is bathing; but it is something you should do on a regular basis.”   ―     Zig Ziglar,     Raising Positive Kids in a Negative World    

“When obstacles arise, you change your direction to reach your goal; you do not change your decision to get there.”   ―     Zig Ziglar
“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great”   ―     Zig Ziglar
“The chief cause of failure and unhappiness is trading what you want most for what you want right now”
―     Zig Ziglar
One thought on ““Just do somethng”

Leave a Reply

