Girls, Girl Scouts, and memories

I recently had the opportunity to help with my granddaughter’s Girl Scout to troop .

girl_scouts

http://www.girlscouts.org

I offered to create a craft for these Girl Scouts that involved lots of glue.

2014-01-11 10.39.25

The goal was to create a banner for each girl to take home.

2014-01-11 13.24.17

The girls were full of enthusiasm and energy and I was exhausted in no time. It has been awhile since I spent two hours with a room full of nine and ten-year olds! Some of the girls settled right down to complete their banner while others were more interested in the social aspect of the meeting  (hmmm…I think that would have been me at ten years old). My granddaughter was such a help having completed this craft with me on a previous occasion. She jumped right in to help the girls get started.

2014-01-11 10.38.39

Each kit was  pre cut.

2014-01-11 10.12.55

It was really just a matter of gluing the items together to finish the banner to hang in their room, over a doorway or mirror.

2014-01-11 13.46.09

This meeting brought back so many memories-not only of my time a Brownie or as a leader for my daughters, but of my grandmother who was my inspiration into the world of Girl Scouts. She was raised in Savannah, Georgia and was in one of the first troops with the founder of the Girl Scouts, Juliet Lowe.

Juliet Lowe

Juliet Lowe

th (5)

I remember my grandmother coming to my Brownie troop as  a child to tell us about her experiences. Since then  I have  had a soft spot for this organization. As I stood with the girls to recite the Girl Scout promise, these memories came rushing back.

I 2010 Thommmee and I traveled to Savannah, Georgia and visited the Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace. It might not have been on his top ten list of things to see in Savannah, but good sport that he is, it was worth the visit.

Then

Then

2011

2011

They were so gracious to allow us to view the original log books and although we did not find my grandmother’s name, it was exciting to see such history.

thThe Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace—a Girl Scout national center                   The Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace—a Girl Scout national center

Built in 1821, the house has been restored and furnished with many original Gordon family pieces. Located in the heart of the Savannah Historic District, it was designated as Savannah’s first National Historic Landmark in 1965.

Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace
10 East Oglethorpe Avenue
Savannah, GA 31401-3707

If you have not been to this historic city yet, you may want to put it on your list of places to visit. It has a great deal to see, much history, and the people are extremely friendly.

Even if you don’t have any experience with Girl Scouts, you have probably eaten one of their cookies, had a scout knock on your door, or seen them standing in front of you supermarket.

thK1VLHK7D

I am glad I that I could carry on the Girl Scout tradition with my granddaughter as my grandmother did for me.

Another day of the Good Life!

Leave a Reply

