Fettuccine Alfredo

I did not know I would enjoy cooking after I retired. Thommmee did almost all the cooking for the last five or so years while I was still working. Now I actually am enjoying my time in the kitchen and he does not seem to mind at all!

Today I decided to try a lighter version of Fettuccine Alfredo. (I have to keep in mind those three trips each week to the gym and try to make better choices where I can!) I have never made this dish before and was surprised that some recipes call for heavy cream, cream cheese, and as much as three sticks of butter! I searched and finally found a ‘skinny’ version at  http://www.gimmesomeoven.com. I made some adjustments and here is what I came up with:

Ingredients

  • 1 box of fettuccine
  • 1 can of evaporated milk-I used low fat-approx. 1 cup. The recipe said you could use whatever milk you have on hand
  • 1 tbs olive oil (I used 2 tbs)
  • 1 chicken bullion cube-the original recipe called for 1 cup of chick broth (which I did not have)
  • about 3 tbs of flour
  • fresh garlic-I had a jar of chopped garlic
  • 3/4 cup parmesan cheese. I used an Italian cheese blend which included Romano, Mozzarella, Fontina, and Asiago
  • salt and pepper to taste

2014-04-07 17.46.54

Start your water to boil for pasta. Sauté garlic in olive oil over medium high heat. Add flour and cook for a few minutes stirring to mix thoroughly. Add 1 cup chicken broth (I dissolved bullion cube in one cup hot water).  Use whisk to remove lumps and add milk.   Continue to whisk to a nice consistency.

Alfredo sauce

My pasta directions stated to cook for twelve minutes so you want to coincide these to finish at about the same time.

fettuccine

Add cheese to mixture  just before serving-it does not take long to melt the cheese-about two minutes.  Toss with fettuccine and serve. I thought the cheese blend would be really tasty but the melted mozzarella made it a bit messy to work with. I think next time I will stay with just the parmesan and maybe some Romano. It was very tasty but it was not the alfredo sauce from your favorite Italian restaurant. For a lighter version, however, Thommmee and I both agreed it was pretty good!

fettuccine alfredo

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

5 thoughts on “Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. Thank you Andrea! You should give blogging a try. I think you would be great at it! It is so fun and you meet interesting people from all over the world. I really enjoy my blogging community.

    Like

  2. I love your blog Grandma! So beautiful and crafty. I am enjoying reading your posts, you are inspiring! Love you lots.

    Like

  3. Jan, I love the way you took a fattening recipe and changed it to be low-fat. I find myself doing that all the time too and I’ve made Alfredo in an altered state for some time now. Your ideas are great and even if not restaurant style, the result is so much better for one’s waist.

    Mary Ann

    Like

Leave a Reply

