Healthly Oatmeal Pancakes

A few years ago I was looking for a healthy pancake recipe. After searching, I stumbled upon an oatmeal pancake recipe which I have tweaked to call my own. I removed the sugar, reduced the oil from the original recipe and added whole wheat flour, chia seeds and banana.  I make up several zip lock bags of mix in advance. Often I use powered milk in these bags so when I am out of milk I can add water (instead of milk) when I prepare. The bags are great to take camping or for a lazy weekend morning when I don’t want to make a big fuss. These pancakes are a hit in our home. Thommmee will often make sure there is a ripe banana lying around on Sunday morning after church so when I ask him, “what do you want for breakfast?” I can usually be sure he wants pancakes!
th (2)
I hope you will enjoy it as much as we do!
Ingredients:
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1 ripe banana
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon chia seeds (Optional)
1 egg
1 teaspoon of coconut oil
2014-01-18 08.35.09
Directions:
1. Grind oatmeal to a fine consistency. If I use chia seeds, I usually combine with oatmeal in my Bullet/blender. Mash banana thoroughly. Add egg, oil, and vanilla. Mix in dry ingredients alternating with milk as necessary, These pancakes are usually thicker so add more milk if you desire thinner pancakes. I have used nonfat milk, almond milk, or powered milk with equal success.
2. Heat a lightly oiled/sprayed griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour batter on the griddle.

2014-01-18 08.56.59

I cook these a little longer to cook all the way through. Adjust pan as needed but keeping it as hot as possible without burning. Brown on both sides and serve hot with your favorite toppings.

2014-01-18 08.59.01

Enjoy! 

2014-04-12_09.05.11

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

Leave a Reply

