Orange Cauliflower Rice

At our recent trip to the Farmer’s Market, we came across an orange cauliflower. I had never seen this variety so golden…so cheesy looking……..I grabbed one up with an idea of cauliflower rice forming in my mind.

th (4)

One of my favorite foods is white rice. We have given up this delicacy the past few months while we have focused on healthy eating and portion control. I know if I make up a batch of white rice I will over indulge with mounds of butter or gravy. For now, it is off my list of food choices so the idea of cauliflower rice sounded really good.

I began searching the internet for a recipe. While I did realize that the uniqueness of this orange color would not actually change the flavor of the cauliflower, I could not wait to make my rice. I took a combination of several recipes to create my masterpiece and this is what I came up with.

Orange Cauliflower Rice

Wash cauliflower and break into small flowerets.

20140715_142647

Using a food processor or grater, chop into fine rice-sized pieces. I used a small food chopper and chopped in small batches.

20140715_165912

Sautee onion and garlic in a small amount of olive oil.

This is optional.

20140715_165641

Add drained cauliflower, stir into pan, cover and cook for 5-10 minutes until you reach your desired tenderness. Thommmee and I don’t like our veggies too mushy so about 8 minutes cooking time worked . There were different opinions about adding additional water or oil. I decided to add a small amount of oil as I began cooking to avoid sticking. If your cauliflower is wet, the additional moisture will help steam it. You don’t want it too wet, however.

20140715_170911

It worked perfectly! We both loved this ‘indulgence’ and liked it better than cauliflower mashed potatoes. The consistency was more satisfying and the nice orange color (while not changing the flavor) made the ‘rice’ more visually pleasing . We added a bit of butter, salt, and pepper.

20140715_171250

Dinner is served!

This is a keeper.

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

 

One thought on “Orange Cauliflower Rice

Leave a Reply

