Rachael Ray’s Banana Oatmeal Squares

The other evening I was looking for a reasonably healthy snack. Lets be honest-I had a sweet tooth! I was exploring the web for a recipe that was quick and that I could make with the ingredients I had on hand. This tasty dish caught my eye.

Rachael Ray’s Banana Oatmeal Squares

1 1/2 cups oatmeal (instant or rolled oats both work well)

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used white four)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 large ripe banana, mashed

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 egg, beaten

1 cup milk (I used almond milk)

(I added about  2 tbs  honey for extra sweetness based on the reviews I read)

Optional: nuts, raisins, cranberries, etc. (I used cranberries)

wpid-20141022_190557.jpg

Since  had a smallish banana, I added about 1/4 cup applesauce too.

PREPARATION

Pre-heat the oven to 350ºF. Grease an 8-inch x 8-inch cake pan (I had a round pan)

Dump all of the ingredients into a large bowl and stir until well combined.

wpid-20141022_185829.jpg

Add optional cranberries

wpid-20141022_185933.jpg

Pour the mixture into a prepared cake pan.

wpid-20141022_190109.jpg

 Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool for 5-10 minutes before cutting into squares. The squares can be stored, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 5 days. Makes 6-8 squares.

wpid-20141022_202114.jpg

Enjoy.

The reviews on this recipe were overall good. I thought it was delicious when it was hot out of the oven.  I would not make this again unless we were gong to finish it within a day or so (preferably the same day). It was not what you would call light and fluffy but had a heavier texture. I thought it had great flavor and was perfect with a cup of hot tea in the evening or a healthy breakfast treat. Definitely worth a try and super easy to make.

Thanks Rachael Ray!

http://www.rachaelray.com/recipe.php?recipe_id=4158

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

Leave a Reply

