One year later…

I cannot believe that it has been one year since I started my blog!

wpid-2014-11-09-08.27.28.jpg.jpeg

I am so excited!

When I started my blog I thought it would focus on crafting with a few thoughts on parenting thrown in. Maybe I would share my retirement journey. Yes, it has turned out to be these things and much more than I ever expected! I never thought I would be cooking and sharing my successes and failures in the kitchen. I never knew that I would retire so soon after beginning this blog or that retirement would be so much fun! I had no idea what was waiting behind the next corner. I am even learning from my mistakes.

wpid-cae59d77e1c04f021ebbad6ab4921fb1.jpg

As I look over a year of blogging, I am astonished how much time I spent sharing my experiences. I am thrilled to have met so many interesting bloggers from all over the world and touched by the support I have received from the blogging community. I am thrilled to read about places I will probably never see.  I am smiling when I see how many of my family and friends have supported my blog both publicly and privately.

I think what I was most surprised to find out is how much I have learned from other bloggers.  There have been wonderful crafting projects, some fabulous recipes, new ideas, places, cultures, and opinions-the list is endless!

I have some big plans this next year.  Sewing projects  is actually where I spend most of my time. I am busy making curtains, refashioning some clothing, stitching up bags, pillows, and other things that interest me.

wpid-20141021_090543.jpg

In a recent conversation with my sister, I mentioned that retirement (and age, I guess) have allowed me the freedom to spend time on things that interest me and doing things that I  enjoy. I don’t want to waste a moment.  Funny how that works!

You may have noticed that I recently changed the format of my blog. Technical difficulties caused this change. I was thinking about a new look anyway so it all worked out.  I guess my biggest challenge has been the technical aspects of the blog itself. I have anguished over how to do simple things like show the like buttons or add another page. I still struggle but somehow I even enjoy this aspect of blogging.

Most of all this blog is something I enjoy. Thank you for joining me-both new friends and old friends-on this excursion. I look forward to this next year with excited anticipation of my continued journey.

wpid-20140813_093751.jpg

14 thoughts on “One year later…

  1. I am so proud of you, Jan. You are a technical wizard in my book the way you went about creating and keeping up your blog. I find your comments always of interest to me. You are a real person with so much to contribute to the world. I’m also proud to have known you for over 52 years! Continue on to blogging year number 2. You have me in the wings waiting to hear more about your precious life!

    Love,

    Mary Ann

    Like

  2. Mary Ann, thank you so much. I was so touched by your thoughtful words. Yes we have had quite a journey together haven’t we? I look forward to many more years of your dear friendship. I appreciate your encouragement. You inspire me!

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the milestone! I have been blogging for less than 6 months but even in that short span of time I have grown in knowledge and have met some fabulous bloggers all over the world. I wish you more success in blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Another amazing blog! Thank you so much for sharing part of your life with us, I have enjoyed this past year reading your blogs.
    You have inspired and encouraged more people than you will ever know, just by being you! You are beautiful. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

