HERSHEY’S Brownies

I love brownies-but who doesn’t? Whenever I need a quick and easy dessert I use this go to recipe from the HERSHERY website. I almost always have the ingredients on hand and they are always a hit.
This past weekend I offered to bring a dessert to the cousin’s house. Since they were nice enough to put us up and set up the craft fair, this was my little contribution.  I needed something that was easy to transport and something that everyone would enjoy.  I also took a pumpkin chocolate chip loaf and a banana loaf that I baked as a little thank you gift and for her to put away for another day.
All packed up, we headed out. Needless to say the brownies were a hit so I decided to share this easy recipe. It may not replace your favorite brownie recipe but it is nice to have on hand.
hershey-baking-cocoa_sm
 Ingredients

wpid-20141113_173219.jpg

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts or chocolate chips (optional)
  • CREAMY BROWNIE FROSTING (recipe follows)

Directions

Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 9-inch square baking pan. Stir together butter, sugar and vanilla in bowl.

wpid-20141113_172718.jpg

Add eggs; beat well with spoon. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; gradually add to egg mixture, beating until well blended.

wpid-2014-11-13-17.40.00.jpg.jpeg

Stir in nuts, if desired. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. I don’t have a square pan at the moment so used a cake pan. It worked just fine.

wpid-20141113_173922.jpg

I decided to top with mini chocolate chips before baking and skip the frosting.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan. Cool completely in pan on wire rack.

Prepare CREAMY BROWNIE FROSTING if desired; spread over brownies. Cut into squares. Makes 16 brownies.

wpid-20141114_093247.jpg

(They were gone before I could get a picture of the chewy goodness on the inside!)

CREAMY BROWNIE FROSTING

(optional)

3 tablespoons butter or margarine, softened

3 tablespoons HERSHEY’S Cocoa

1 tablespoon light corn syrup or honey

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup powdered sugar

1 to 2 tablespoons milk

Beat butter, cocoa, corn syrup and vanilla in small bowl until blended. Add powdered sugar and milk;Beat to spreading consistency. About 1 cup frosting.

Enjoy!

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

http://www.hersheys.com/pure-recipes/details.aspx?id=5008&name=Best+Brownies

2 thoughts on “HERSHEY’S Brownies

  1. These look so yummy. I don’t indulge in brownies very often, but when I do, I like to throw on a little vanilla ice cream and hot fudge. My mouth is watering just thinking of it. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my site. Much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

