Cheesy Zucchini Rice

We love zucchini at our house and we love good ‘ol white rice. I know… they say white rice is not really that good for you… so I guess you could adapt this recipe to brown rice…but white rice is my absolute favorite! Growing up our large family was divided into two camps-the rice lovers and the potato lovers. Since Dad was a rice lover we ate it more often than potatoes.  I was in the rice camp. Old habits die hard, I guess.

While exploring the internet only an hour before dinner, I found a recipe using three basic ingredients-rice, zucchini, and cheese. We had everything on hand so no trip to the store required. Whew! I decided to make this delicious looking side combo to enhance our baked chicken dinner. Be sure to use sharp cheddar cheese for the extra wallop of flavor. I used a Mexican blend of cheese which was good but I am sure the cheddar would have been great! Next time…and there will be a next time. This was super easy and quick.

Cheesy Zucchini Rice-adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Café

…but taken from…

The Baker Upstairs (wow, this recipe gets around!) http://www.thebakerupstairs.com/2013/10/cheesy-zucchini-rice.html

Ingredients

1 cup white rice
2 cups chicken broth
1 medium or 2 small zucchini, grated (about 2 cups)
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt + pepper to taste
1-2 tablespoons milk (if needed)

wpid-20141119_165131.jpg In a medium sauce pan, combine rice and broth, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered for 15-20 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.

wpid-20141119_170055.jpg

Remove from heat and stir in zucchini, cheese, garlic powder, and salt and pepper. Stir in milk if needed to thin out the sauce. I placed covered pan back on the stove for a few minutes because I like my food really hot! The shredded zucchini cooked in the hot rice and the cheese melted nicely. I did not need to add the  milk.

wpid-20141119_171332.jpg

Delicious!

Another keeper.

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

7 thoughts on “Cheesy Zucchini Rice

  1. Pingback: All is quiet on the home front | mommermom

Leave a Reply

