An easy new year sewing project

I decided on a new project. I wanted to learn how to make my own bias tape. I have visions of placemats, potholders and other sewing goals this year. I had thought about it for awhile so when I received a Joanne’s  gift card for Christmas, I ventured outside my warm cocoon and headed out to buy a bias tape maker.

wpid-20150101_170508.jpg

I watched a multitude of YouTube videos trying to decide what I needed and which was the best method. I finally made a decision and this is what I came up with.

I first assembled my tools.

wpid-20150101_122541.jpg

4 fat quarters (on sale for 99 cents each) a 3/4 inch bias tool (at 40% off it was only $5.99) a new blade for my rotary cutter (another 40% off score) and using my 15% off total purchase coupon I checked out and headed home.

I pulled out the iron, ironing board, and cutting mat. My brother is staying with us for a while so I moved my tools to the dining room table (since my sewing room doubles as a guest room). Now that my mess from Christmas is cleaned up, I now have sewing stuff all over the dining room. (I don’t mind. I love having him here!)

The size of my tool is 3/4 inches so I needed to cut 1 1/4 inch strips of fabric-on the bias. The video that helped the most was by  Made Everyday with Dana. In fact, she was so clear and articulate that  I even subscribed to her channel. She did not spend extra time with useless information or trying to fill space and no irritating music in the background. I did have to watch the video a few times to get it but it was actually pretty easy. She also has some other fabulous ideas I want to watch.

The first thing I found out is that you have to be very accurate in your cutting. This is probably why I do not quilt because I sometimes have trouble with this aspect of sewing. (I seem to be only fairly accurate). There was a small learning curve but I soon got the hang of it.

wpid-20150101_133305.jpg

It was really as simple as threading the strips through the bias maker

wpid-20150101_122646.jpg

and following with an iron.

wpid-20150101_133812.jpg

wpid-20150101_133945.jpg

Before I knew it I had some cute bias tape!

 wpid-20150101_133359.jpg

This was a fun little project to start the new year!

8 thoughts on “An easy new year sewing project

  1. NO idea what bias binding is, I can hardly hand sew let alone regular sewing. My daughter has a sewing machine and once made herself a most glorious costume of a video game character involving red velvet and various leather accouterments that had me in awe of her for months. I think I am going to learn a lot on this blog! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was immediately hooked on this post! I just finished my bunting for Fran, I had thought to bias strip the edges but the cost was too much. I should have though as my cutting is nowhere near the standard of your ‘fairly’ accurate 🙂 As a result my bunting is definitely ‘rustic’ ……..

    What a great little gadget. I have never heard of it before and it made me go ‘wow!’ I shall have to see if they exist here. You will have such fun coordinating all your projects now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

