New year…new projects

 

Thommmee and I have decided to take on a huge project. We are calling it a ‘mini’ but it is…

A KITCHEN REMODEL!

This is going to be a low-budget do-it-yourself project. We have had many conversations, looked at a variety of books,  watched YouTube videos, and visited our favorite store a multitude of times.

wpid-20141208_162620.jpg

I am not talented in this department.  I cringe to think of what lies ahead of us. Thommmee is pretty handy so he will be doing most of the work.

wpid-20150105_120533.jpg.

 I did what I could to help by clearing off the counters…

wpid-20150105_113321.jpg

…since the first job is to scrape off the popcorn ceiling.

wpid-20150105_114320.jpg

Bonus!

My brother is visiting and giving us a helping hand to get started.

wpid-20150105_133824.jpg

I call it a mini remodel since our goals are :

  • take off the popcorn ceiling
  • paint the walls and ceiling (probably some texture on the ceiling)
  • scrub down the cabinets and replace the hardware. (we decided not to paint them at this time and replacing them is not in our budget)
  • replace the counter tops (nothing super fancy)
  • replace the kitchen sink
  • replace the kitchen floors
  • hire an electrician to update the lighting
  • replace the dishwasher (budget permitting)

For us this is a pretty big project. I have no idea how long it will take. Thommmee will work at his pace and I am sure most of my “suggestions” will be met with

a look.

So…I am going to practice my patience, my fetching skills, and dust off my limited handyman abilities. I will probably have to take direction with a smile and keep up a good sense of humor because he thought the kitchen was fine…

just the way it is!

wpid-20150105_144053.jpg

What a mess!!

(but getting better!)

 2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

18 thoughts on “New year…new projects

  1. There’s a lot of messiness ahead of you but it’s worth it in the end and it sounds like you’ve been thinking this through and know just what you want. Good luck and look forward to seeing the results!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just read Pauline’s comment and burst out laughing! Obviously Ms Pauline has remodeled some part of a house in the past. I am with you Ms Pauline. We lived in what was effectively a box with floors and nothing else for quite some time AND it was winter time. At the end of our “renovations” that we did ourselves as that was cheaper, we certainly knew how to do a whole lot of things but in the process Steve learned to NEVER let me loose with a crowbar after I was supposed to “remove the tiles from the bathroom wall” and he ended up having to drywall the bathroom again after I got very enthusiastic about it…everything Ms Pauline said and then some! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You always bring a smile to my face! ! I will seriously consider staying away from any heavy objects most especially a crowbar! With all the encouragement that we’ve been getting I am certain we will be at least moderately successful. Ha ha- time will tell.

    Like

  4. You’ve got your sense of humor in tact, and that is half the battle. Did I say ‘battle’. Hmmm….I’m sure there’s a better word. Best of luck. I will be worth it in the end, but the process can be hair-raising and patience-challenging. Onward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

