Happy National PB&J Day

Who knew?

April 2 is National Peanut butter and Jelly Day.

wpid-20150402_175751.jpg

They say that the average American eats about 1,500 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches by the time they are 18. I have to think that may have been true in my day and perhaps even when my children were growing up (although I doubt it) but based on the eating habits of my grandchildren I don’t think that statistic is true today. The history of the sandwich apparently goes back to WWII when American soldiers created this tasty treat from their rations.

I absolutely love a good pb&j and still eat them to this day. Call it my comfort food but there is nothing quite like it!

In honor of this ‘holiday’ I decided to make some strawberry jam (well that and my fellow blogger, Simply Grateful Housewife, who is always canning something inspired me)! I jumped up early and headed off to the strawberry stand to get some fresh picked seconds. I don’t need the prettiest strawberries for my jam but I do like the freshest. Our area has many strawberry fields-we are now in prime strawberry season and the stands are abundant.

wpid-2015-04-02-17.54.21.jpg.jpeg

I hustled home with my score and started to clean my berries.

wpid-2015-04-02-17.55.00.jpg.jpeg

I got my supplies together,

2014-02-11 14.13.47 (3)

 pulled out my pots, washed my jars, and got them boiling…

wpid-20150402_082806.jpg

…while I finished up getting the berries ready.

wpid-2015-04-02-17.55.24.jpg.jpeg

I used the recipe from the Ball Canning site.

You  will need:

5 cups crushed strawberries (about 5 lbs)

Directions:

  1. Prepare boiling water canner. Heat jars in simmering water until ready for use. Do not boil.  Wash lids in warm soapy water and set bands aside.
  2. COMBINE strawberries and lemon juice in a 6- or 8-quart saucepan. Gradually stir in pectin. Bring mixture to a full rolling boil that can not be stirred down, over high heat, stirring constantly.
  3. ADD entire measure of sugar, stirring to dissolve. Return mixture to a full rolling boil. Boil hard 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Skim foam if necessary.
  4. LADLE hot jam into hot jars leaving 1/4 inch headspace. Wipe rim. Center lid on jar. Apply band until fit is fingertip tight.
  5. PROCESS in a boiling water canner for 10 minutes, adjusting for altitude. Remove jars and cool. Check lids for seal after 24 hours. Lid should not flex up and down when center is pressed.

wpid-2015-04-02-17.55.47.jpg.jpeg

 Success!

So…then I had lunch.

wpid-20150402_183104-1.jpg

If you haven’t had homemade jam, try it! It is so much better than what you find in the store.  Maybe even cook up a batch of your own.

2014-01-29 19.12.40 (2)

16 thoughts on “Happy National PB&J Day

  1. I know it was pb&j most of my 12 years of school ( well maybe occasionally a bologna sandwich). It was grape jelly which I cannot stand now! Still love those peanut butter and jelly sandwiches though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Marlene, probably marionberries that you tasted in Portland. I grew up on PB&J because Mom always canned (huckleberry jam is my forever fave), and we were poor. It was lunch every day for many years. Maybe that explains why it’s a comfort food for me today. Just not the same without mom’s homemade jams and jellies anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never tried making my own jam but I’m blessed with friends who do and you can’t beat the home made versions for sure. I’m an almond butter person since I avoid things that cause inflammation (like peanuts) but just the smell of peanut butter can take me back to my childhood!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are thinking of Marion berries I’ll bet. I don’t think I’m ever seen lemon marmalade. Hmmm. I’ve had and helped make Limoncello which is a lot of work but so worth it. Love Lemon curd and lemon meringue pie. Miss being able to grow warm weather fruits. Like apricots. Are you as hungry as I am now? As for nut butters, our grocery has an extruder that you put the almonds in and it squishes them straight out into a paste like almond butter. Pretty thick and no oils sitting on top if you eat it quickly enough. I love almonds. Peanuts, not as much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha ha! I do love orange marmalade to but not as crazy about the almond butter for some reason. I do love that crunchy no -extra crunchy peanut butter! Last year I made lemon marmalade because we had such a bumper crop of lemons. I should try to make orange marmalade. It is a lot of work but so worth it. Surprisingly our strawberry season starts late January and is over by about mid June. Seems to me when I was in Portland last, I had some type of wonderful berry jam. I don’t recall what it was and I don’t think it was blackberry but it was absolutely delicious. They served it at a restaurant where I had breakfast.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m a little late for PB&J day but it sounds like you had a good time making that sandwich. I have never, ever made jam, jelly or any such thing. I’d more likely make nut butter. Preferably almond butter. Love the fresh stuff. I thought strawberries came in season in July? Maybe that’s the end of the season. You get more sunshine so yours grow sooner. I do remember eating them and giving them to my kids. Now I like nut butter with honey. Or orange marmalade. Darn, now I’m hungry and no bread in this house. See what you started? :))

    Like

Leave a Reply

