A Father’s Day tribute to my Dad

I posted this on Father’s Day last year and felt it was worth repeating. I miss you, Dad.

mommermom

Father’s Day is a bittersweet day for me. Without a father to celebrate with it is just not the same. It does, however, allow me to reflect on the wonderful father that I was so blessed to have.

I am the oldest of 6 children. We are a very close group!  Although very close to both of our parents, the relationship with our dad (and I am sure I can speak for all of my siblings) was very special. He was the soul of the family, the hugger, the kisser, the listener, the head of the family.

232323232fp43239_vq=3249_;_9_348_WSNRCG=3232_8_385597vq0mrj

Dad and I had our share of battles during my teenage years. The issues were nail polish, make up, dating, and all the other rights of passage. My mother (sweet incredible woman that she was) was somewhat old-fashioned in the sense that Dad had the last say on most issues. I am sure she was a…

View original post 542 more words

6 thoughts on “A Father’s Day tribute to my Dad

  1. I had to go back and read the original. You had the dad I wished for. Mine was not a bad person. We tried so hard to please and make him proud of us. Never happened. They were task masters in those days. Your mom was a very beautiful woman and you can feel the love even through the photo. Looking back there are things I could have added to my comments about him. They don’t come to mind quickly anymore. I gave my children a father just like mine. It makes me sad but nothing I can do now. Maybe that’s why they wound up single with no children. I’m sure the fact your dad was such a wonderful man was a prominent factor in your choice as well as your children. Have a wonderful week. Stay cool somehow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you very much, Marlene. I did not marry a man like my dad the first time but somehow managed to get it right the second time around. They were certainly a model to me. Parenting is a difficult task. Sounds to me like your children were most blessed to have you as their mother! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

