Merry Christmas

As Christmas approaches this year, I am reminded that it is the people in our lives that make it so special.  We will be celebrating with one less person this year…

our youngest sister, Joni.

We were blessed to have her for 54 years.

I don’t want to focus on the sadness we are experiencing but instead look forward. Christmas, for me, is also a time to count my blessings and appreciate all that God has done in my life. Our large family will celebrate together and it will be memorable! We will hug hard and love even more.

May your Christmas be joyful. I look forward to catching up with all of you in the new year. Thank you for all of your support, friendship, and encouragement in 2015.

Merry Christmas

24 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. I know first hand how difficult the first holiday after a loss can be, having lost my brother to cancer last year over Thanksgiving. How wonderful that your family will come together and celibate! It’s not an easy thing to do. Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jan, you have always had a special family and still do. We would love to have Joni still with us, but I’m sure that she has left memories that will turn to gold once the grief has subsided.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so late wishing you a Merry Christmas as I just found this in my spam folder. How dare they. I had several others there as well. I’ll have to check more often. So sorry to hear about the loss of your sister. I will be devastated if anything happens to mine. I’m sure you will find ways to celebrate her life. Hope the New Years brings you all things good. Giant squishy hugs to help you through.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I missed this post Jan, and I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your youngest sister Joni. Every celebration for the year following a death can be so very hard for those left behind. But as you say it is far more important to concentrate on the wealth of happy memories and the wonderfulness of the person than to dwell in our personal sadness that they are no longer going to be beside us in the flesh again. My thoughts are with you, and I send much love xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

