Missing People

We have probably all seen the posters of missing persons or watched a TV program showcasing a particular missing person, or a newscast with a tragic story of a missing child or high profile story of a coed. Did you know that in the United States alone there are as many as 90, 000 people that might be missing at any given time? (source USA Today).

I was shocked to find such  statistics! Many of these missing persons are found but how did they go missing in the first place?  Children are abducted for many reasons. We can all agree that this is heartbreaking for both the child and the family beyond belief and understanding. In this post I will not even try to discuss the very sensitive and sad story of the  more than 8 million children that go missing worldwide each year. No country is immune to this tragedy.   I will instead focus on adults that are missing…

most specifically…

img_20160328_192904.jpg

…my brother who went missing on March 20, 2016.

Of the many missing persons in the US, almost 60, 000 are adults and  more than half of them are male. Adults go missing for a variety of reasons such as accidents, suicide, mental health issues, suspicious circumstances, and sometimes deliberately.

Wow!

This is much more difficult than I thought. I planned to write an interesting overview on this subject full of stats and such but…

I just can’t.

We have done the normal things-filed a police report, checked hospitals, phoned, Facebook, drove around, prayed, asked for prayers, checked with friends…..the problem is…is he a deliberate disappearance like some family members think? Would he really leave us hanging like this? Is it time to plaster his face on milk cartons and telephone poles? Would he really allow us to worry?  We are a very close family! Is he grieving at the loss of our sister last November? He is a long distance truck driver-is he working? Is he on the road?  Has he chosen to live under a bridge or in a park?  It is said no news is good news. We just want to know. Some think if we crank up the search we will paint him into the proverbial corner. If he left deliberately… is he just too embarrassed to make contact?  He has  previously “disappeared” for a day or two at a time…but not this long.

2012-10-01_14.36.23.jpeg

Come home Jimmy.

We miss you.

We love you.

2013-05-05 14.50.50

34 thoughts on “Missing People

  1. Thanks, Mary Ann. Read on! 😊 We made contact later that same day. We still do not know why or what happened but are greatful that he is alright. ♡♡♡♡What a stressful few weeks.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh……I know you lost your brother but did not realize his name was Jimmy. It is hard to lose a sibling. Big hugs to you! ♡♡ Thank you so very much for your prayers. I am so hopeful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I read your post tonight, I could feel your pain and fear and I want you to know you are very much in my thoughts and prayers. I also need to let you know your plea for his return broke my heart. As you know, I lost my brother to cancer last year – his name was Jimmy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know, Marlene and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you. Hugs back at you. I only wish I knew what was to be done….. Your ideas might be on the table in time….. but hopefully this will be resolved sooner than later.

    Like

  5. I have just one sister. We get together every week. It’s so nice to be close to her and have a good relationship with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you so much, Nicki. It certainly is never far from my mind and my heart. We do miss him terribly. Even after all of these years my siblings and I are very close, live within miles of each other, and celebrate together often. He knows we’re here and he must know how worried we are. I so appreciate your well wishes and concern.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you Marlene. Squishy hugs accepted.♡♡ We believe he doesn’t want to be found right now for whatever reason. He’s always walked to the tune of his own drummer. The problem with putting up the flyers is if he’s working we may create an environment that may keep him from working or maintaining employment or….. more embarrassment. He’s kind of a hometown guy and we feel that he is either very close to home or out on the road truck driving. I am so sorry to hear about your brother. That must have been very hurtful when he decided to leave the family and forced you all to accept his choice. You are right, we are all subject to the choices of other people and have no control over what they do but that doesn’t mean we have to like it…… we just can’t be defined by find their decisions. I know this logically and I’m trying to accept this. Us remaining siblings are discussing where we want to go from here and when we want to take additional action action. I always appreciate your input and your friendship.♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so sorry, Jan. His disappearance must weigh heavily on you and the rest of the family. I hope that wherever he is, he is well and that he soon will feel the love and support that’s waiting for him at home.

    I didn’t know there were so many adults who go missing in the US every year.

    May God bless him and bring him home to all those who love him.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my goodness, Jan. That is the most devastating thing to deal with. The not knowing! I would be thinking that going to truck stops that he used to stop at and putting flyers out there might be a possibility. Maybe someone on a run knows something about him. Truckers tend to take care of each other and keep in touch. It’s just a thought. Police have no vested interest in finding a grown man unless they know for sure a crime has been committed. I will keep you and yours in my prayers as well. I haven’t seen my brother for 16 years but I know he was alive and well, just chose to walk away from our family. He made it clear he wanted nothing to do with any of us and so we must accept his choice. It’s so different than not knowing. My heart goes out to you. Giant squishy hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. This must be so hard for you all Jan. Your post highlights how so often we take decisions to change our lives without realising how it will affect those who care about us. So many things play into disappearances don’t they – and only you who are closest might have an inkling of why. I do so hope you have an answer to your prayers! My thoughts are with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This is such a sad story. My heartfelt love goes out to you with open arms. I have stopped everything and have prayed so hard for you and yours. Dear God… We ask for our friends brother to return safely. Please whisper in his ear and let him know his family loves him and misses him. Amen
    Hugs and more hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

